Young Stars Gather at Sportsmen's Lodge for Young Artists Award [PHOTOs]

The young people came out for the 33rd awards show.

Every year at the Sportsmen's Lodge, there's the Young Artist Award. This year was the 33rd year.

See the photo gallery above, and below is the detailed press release.


It was a day of winners as child and teen stars gathered Sunday to honor those considered the best young actors in motion pictures and television. Coming from all parts of the United States and Canada, all came to celebrate both their wins and nominations at the 33rd Annual Young Artist Awards. It was held at the Sportsmen's Lodge Events Center in Studio City.

For leading young actor and actress in the feature film category, Dakota Goyo won for his part in Real Steel and Chloe Grace Moretz for role in Hugo. In supporting roles Matthew J. Evans won for Bad Teacher and Laine MacNeil for Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules.

For young actor 10 and under, Riley Thomas Stewart won for The Beaver. Ten and under actress: Emma Rayne Lyle for I Don't Know How She Does It and Amara Miller of The Descendants tied for young actress 10 and under. The young stars of Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer won for the Best Ensemble Cast. This included Jordana Beatty, Preston Bailey, Parris Mosteller, Garrett Ryan, Ashley Boettcher, Taylar Hender, Cameron Boyce and Jackson Odell.

Splitting the honor for Best Performance in an International Feature Film was Antoine Olivier Pilon of Shiver of the Hills and Julia Sarah Stone of The Year Dolly Parton Was My Mom. In the short film category Ryan Grantham won for Liz and Dawson Dunbar of Bred in Captivity won for young Actor 10 and Under. For young actress it was a 3-way tie between Sarah De La Isla (The Aerial Girl), Ashley McGullan (Re-abduction) and Ashley Lynn Switzer (Ruby Slippers). Dalila Bela won for young actress 10 and under for Joanna Makes a Friend.

Other winners: TV Movie, Miniseries or Special: actor: Nicholas Stargel for Oliver's Ghost: actress: Jada Facer for Love's Christmas Journey. Supporting actor: Liam McKanna (Beyond the Blackboard). Caitlin Carmichael (Bag of Bones) and Kirstin Dorn (A Christmas Wish) tied for supporting actress.

TV Series: Actor: a tie between Dylan Everett (Wingin' It) and Jared Gilmore (One Upon a Time). Actress: a tie between Cristine Prosperi (Degrassi: The Next Generation) and Niamh Wilson (Debra) Supporting Actor: Karan Brar (Jessie) and Maxim Knight (FallingSkies) tied. Supporting Actress: Stefanie Scott (A.N.T. Farm) and actor: Ryan Malgarini (Mike & Molly).

TV Series Guest Starring: Actor 18-21: Ryan Malgarini (Mike & Molly) actor 14-17: Trevor Jackson (Harry's Law). Actor 11-13: Austin Michael Coleman (House MD). and Baljodh Nagra (R. L. Stine's The Haunting Hour) tied. Actor 10 and under: Darien Provost (Mr. Young). Actress 17-21: A tie between Kara Pacitto and Katelyn Pacitto both of Pair of Kings. Actress 14-16: Rebecca Spicher (Criminal Minds). Actress 11-13: a tie: Cameron Protzman (The Glades) and Haley Pullos (House MD). Actress 10 and Under: Olivia Steele-Falconer (Mr. Young)

TV Series: Recurring: Actor: Zayne Emory (I'm in the Band) Actor 17-21: A tie: Brock Ciarlelli (The Middle) and A. J. Saudin (Degrassi: The New Generation). Actress: Frederique Dufort (Tactik) Actress 17-21: Erin Sanders (Big Time Rush). Actress 10 and Under: Emily Alyn Lind (Revenge).

Daytime TV Series: Actor: a tie: Andrew Trischitta and Austin Williams, both of One Life to Live. Actor 12 and Under: a tie Tate Berney (All My Children) and Robbie Tucker (The Young and the Restless). Actress: Haley Pullos (General Hospital). Actress 10 and Under: Danielle Parker (All My Children).

Ensemble in a TV Series: The cast of Debra with its young stars Niamh Wilson, Will Jester, Austin MacDonald, Camden Angelis, Alicia Josipovic and James Coholan.

Voice-Over Role: Actor: A three-way tie: Colin Ford (Jake and the Never Land Pirates), Graeme Jokic and Mark Ramsay, both of Franklin and Friends. Actress: a tie between Grace Rolek (Happiness is a Warm Blanket, Charlie Brown) and Alexandria Suarez (Dora the Explorer).

Ensemble Cast in a DVD Film: Spooky Buddies with its young cast Skyler Cisondo, Tucker Albrizzi, Sierra McCormick, Jake Johnson and Sage Ryan.

Live Theater: Actor: A tie between LJ Benet (To Kill a Mockingbird) and Aiden Eyrick (Jerusalem). Actress: Hannah Lloyd (Once Upon a Dream)

Special awards: Rio Mangini (Outstanding Instrumentalist), Ethan Flower (Michael Landon Award) Tru TV's Black Gold (Social Relations of Knowledge Institute Award). East Los Angeles College for the Engineering Science Boot Camp program (Jackie Coogan Award).

For more information: The non-profit organization's website: www.youngartistawards.org


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »